Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.
If you are a resident of the:
you will need to contact the law enforcement agency in the city to apply for your Concealed Carry Weapon license per California Penal Code section 26155.
In California, the Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state and local guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for issuing Concealed Carry Weapon licenses. Due to the detailed nature involved with conducting these background checks, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks, For a NEW application, the applicant will be asked to schedule an interview appointment for a new Concealed Carry Weapon license.
If the applicant is RENEWING a Concealed Carry Weapon license in San Luis Obispo County, they may not apply until 60 days before the expiration date listed on their current Concealed Carry Weapon license.
Please visit the below website for further information regarding a Concealed Carry Weapon License in San Luis Obispo County:
Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.
Please note that this website is optimized for IE 9.0 and higher, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.
PLEASE REVIEW THE FAQ’S PRIOR TO COMPLETING THE APPLICATION
|Click here for FAQs||Click here for list of Training Providers|
Completing the Application
Answering all the questions on this standard application does not guarantee the issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority. Pursuant to California Penal Code section 26160, each licensing authority will have a written policy summarizing their requirements for issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. In addition, prior to issuing a Concealed Carry Weapon license, the state statutes require proof that:
The following pages include standardized questions to determine whether a Concealed Carry Weapon license shall be issued.
The applicant will certify under penalty of perjury that all answers provided in the application are true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief. The applicant will also acknowledge that information disclosed on this application may be subject to public disclosure.
NOTE: Effective January 1st, 2020, the minimum hours of training for a renewal application will be 8 hours.
Applicants must pass a course of training as specified by the Sheriff’s Office. These courses will be required after the applicant has been approved, but before the issuance of the CCW License, and will have a minimum requirement as follows:
The applicant will be required to complete and pay for an approved firearms use/safety training class as required by law. The law requires that all applicants, as well as renewals, complete this training. Please refer to the Approved Training Site link below for approved classes.
California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a Sheriff of a county or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department of any city, or city and county, may issue a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (Concealed Carry Weapon license).
Who May be Issued a License
The licensing authority specified in Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 (a Sheriff or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department) may issue a license to persons who are of good moral character, who have completed a course of training, and have good cause for issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. All applicants for a Concealed Carry Weapon license will be fingerprinted and state and federal records will be checked to determine if they are eligible to possess firearms. Click here to view all categories that would prohibit a person from possessing firearms and being granted a Concealed Carry Weapon license.
Prior to Filling Out This Application
San Luis Obispo County Sheriff's Permit Office
1585 Kansas Ave
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone: (855) 642-2453